Increasing the confidence of European citizens and businesses in electronic transactions.


The eIDAS Regulation (Regulation (EC) 910/2014) enables the use of electronic identification and trust services by citizens, businesses and public administrations, to access online services or manage electronic transactions. The eIDAS Regulation is the EU wide legal framework meant to ensure the interoperability and security of the electronic trust services across the EU. One of the goals of the eIDAS is to ensure electronic transactions can have the same legal validity as traditional paper-based transactions, to create a framework in which a digital signature has the same value as a hand-written signature.

Since 2013 ENISA has been in the forefront of the developments in eIDAS and has been supporting the Commission and Member States in the area of trust services. The European Union Agency for Cybersecurity issues technical guidance and recommendations on Electronic Identification and Trust Services helping Member States to implement the eIDAS regulation.

The Agency has been supporting the European Commission and the Member States in the area of trust services in many ways, including but without being limited to the following:

  • security recommendations for the implementation of trust services;
  • mapping technical and regulatory requirements;
  • promoting the deployment of qualified trust services across Europe;
  • raising awareness for relying parties and end-users.

The EU Cybersecurity Act of 2019 has strengthened the Agency’s role is supporting the implementation of eIDAS with an extended mandate to support and assist the European Commission and the Member States in the area of electronic identification.

In June 2021, the European Commission released a new framework for EU digital identity by offering citizens and businesses digital wallets that will allow EU citizens to retain their documents such as national digital identities, licenses, diplomas and bank credentials securely in their smartphone. The wallet should also allow them to log in to online services across the EU and to electronically sign their documents.

ENISA also supports the European Competent Authorities for Trust Services (ECATS ) Expert Group

Discover more
Browse the Topics

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience.
Aside from essential cookies we also use tracking cookies for analytics.
Find out more on how we use cookies.

Accept all cookies Accept only essential cookies