News Item

ENISA stays on Crete - confirmed

ENISA’s Executive Director, Professor Udo Helmbrecht was today (27th Sept. 2012) able to confirm that the Agency’s seat will remain on Crete.

Published on September 27, 2012

The confirmation comes after discussions between the Greek Government Minister, Konstantinos Chatzidakis and European Commission Vice President, Commissioner Neelie Kroes. Further details were agreed in letters exchanged between Professor Helmbrecht and Minister, Mr Stavros Kalogiannis.

Under the agreements, ENISA’s Executive Director, research and analysis functions, and administrative and horizontal tasks  will be based in Heraklion. Operational staff members who work closely with EU Member States’ governments will be based in ENISA’s Athens office. Greece’s government fully supports this, and is assisting ENISA in finding adequate premises in Athens.

Professor Helmbrecht said: “I am delighted that we have had this excellent news, which confirms what we have always said, ENISA’s seat will remain in Heraklion. The confirmation of the Heraklion seat and the Athens office allows work on the new ENISA Regulation to move forward, and removes uncertainty for our staff.

“We have excellent support from Greece’s government, particularly from Ministers Chatzidakis and  Kalogiannis, and on Crete, the Governor, Mr Stavros Arnaoutakis, has provided invaluable assistance. Both myself, and all of the ENISA team are looking forward to continuing these good relationships with a confirmed future for ENISA.”  

The overall European Regulation, under which ENISA operates, is in the process of being renewed by the European Parliament and Council. The confirmation of ENISA’s seat in Heraklion is a major step forward in this process.  

Stay updated - subscribe to RSS feeds of both ENISA news items & press releases!

News items:


This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience.
Aside from essential cookies we also use tracking cookies for analytics.
Find out more on how we use cookies.

Accept all cookies Accept only essential cookies