News Item

ENISA Management Board elects Jean-Baptiste Demaison as its new chair

Jean-Baptiste Demaison has been appointed as chair of ENISA's Management Board, following the election which took place on June 9th, 2016.

Published on June 09, 2016

Newly elected chair, Jean-Baptiste Demaison is Senior Advisor on International and European cyber policies within the French Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI) and has been alternate and member of the Management Board of ENISA since 2011. Previously, Demaison worked for the Strategic-Research Institute of the French Military Academy (IRSEM) and as Deputy Director of the French department of the Faculty of Political Science and Economics of the Cairo University. Demaison holds a Master's degree in International Affairs and is specialized on global technological security challenges.

New Vice-Chair of the Management Board has been appointed Krzysztof Silicki, (PL). Silicki has been a member of the ENISA MB since 2004. He is an advisor to the Director of NASK Institute (Research and Academic Computer Network) while also serving as Technical Director from 2001-2013. Founder of the first incident response team in Poland, acting as today’s CERT Polska, and organiser of Poland’s ‘SECURE’, the first conference devoted to IT security issues.

“Today, ENISA’s key role in supporting the reinforcement of cybersecurity capabilities and cooperation across Europe is unanimously recognized. In a spirit of consensus and ambition, France and Poland wish to work with all Member States, the European Commission and ENISA in order to support the Agency face the many thrilling challenges ahead – starting with the NIS directive implementation – and set the path for the successful renewal of its mandate” said in a joint statement Jean-Baptiste Demaison and Krzysztof Silicki.

ENISA Executive Director Udo Helmbrecht welcomes both chair and vice-chair of ENISA’s Management Board. The Director said: “Both members have extensive experience on the technical and policy aspects of cybersecurity, while being active members of the NIS community. I wish them every success in their positions and look forward to a close and fruitful collaboration, to deliver trusted cybersecurity services for Europe’s citizens and industry”. Udo Helmbrecht also highlighted the commitment and contribution of Jörgen Samuelsson and Ferenc Suba, throughout these years supporting the Agency’s operations.

ENISA’s Management Board defines the general direction of the operation of the Agency. The elected Chair and Vice-Chair serve for a term of three years, which may be renewed. ENISA's structure and Management Board members is available online. Jean-Baptiste Demaison’s mandate will be effective starting October 18th 2016.


*Picture, from left to right: ENISA's Head of Stakeholder Relations and Administration Department, Paulo Empadinhas, new Vice-Chair of the MB, Krzysztof Silicki, ENISA's Executive Director, Udo Helmbrecht, new Chair of the MB, Jean-Baptiste Demaison, and ENISA's Head of Core Operations Department, Steve Purser.

Stay updated - subscribe to RSS feeds of both ENISA news items & press releases!

News items:


We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.
We also use analytics. To opt-out from analytics, click for more information.

I've read it More information