CSIRTs Network

CSIRTs Network Logo

The NIS Directive, adopted on 6th of July 2016, represents the first EU-wide rules on cybersecurity. The objective of the Directive is to achieve a high common level of security of network and information systems within the EU, by means of improved cybersecurity capabilities at national level, increased EU-level cooperation and risk management, incident reporting obligations for operators of essential services and digital service providers. The NIS Directive is a major milestone towards building cybersecurity resilience on the European level and the Directive entered into force in August 2016.

The NIS Directive in Article 12 establishes the CSIRTs Network “to contribute to developing confidence and trust between the Member States and to promote swift and effective operational cooperation” (Full text of the NIS Directive). The CSIRTs Network is a network composed of EU Member States’ appointed CSIRTs and CERT-EU (“CSIRTs Network members”). The European Commission participates in the network as an observer. ENISA is tasked to actively support the CSIRTs cooperation, provide the secretariat and active support for incident coordination upon request.

The CSIRTs Network provides a forum where members can cooperate, exchange information and build trust. Members will be able to improve the handling of cross-border incidents and even discuss how to respond in a coordinated manner to specific incidents. 


Chair: csirts-network-chair@enisa.europa.eu

Secretariat :

Browse the Topics

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.
We also use analytics. To opt-out from analytics, click for more information.

I've read it More information